Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

"Can't open input device" on Ultrasparc II 60

Status
Not open for further replies.

gql

Programmer
Aug 2, 2006
US
I have this problem when booting the system after long time no use:

I power on the system, the screen flashes to ajust the resolution and shortly after I see the "Can't open input device" message. and the system hangs there. At this point, the system doens't respond to keyboard input. Does any one know how to fix this problem. I am new to this.

the OS version is Solaris 9. I can power on the system with the power key on the keyboard.

appreciate any help..

Thanks

qgl;

Try another keyboard. You will get this message if a keyboard is not attached, could be yours is having an issue. Yes it may sound strange but I have personally seen sun keyboards that cause all kinds of problems.

Also make sure that the cable has not been cut or damaged. Make sure the mouse is plugged in tight also. If the keyboard does not fix it swap out the mouse and see if that fixes it.

Or your mother brd could be having an issue with keyboard port.

Last resort do the following if your system is set to auto-boot when powered up.