Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

QuickBasic for Windows

Status
Not open for further replies.

Nepheligenous

Technical User
Dec 11, 2002
I have been writing programs using QuickBasic at work for the past 2 or 3 years and was recently informed that they are going to do away with their DOS-based computers and replacing them with NT systems.

1) Will my QB programs work in the NT system?

2) Can I create QB programs to run on the NT systems? Where can I find information about interfacing QB with NT?

I would like to use the feature of the Windows (ie. create dialog boxes, windows, etc) using QB. Is this possible?

Thanks!

yes your qbasic programs will work in windows NT. Assuming that they are native qbasic, certain libraries such as future library will not work, especially in Windows XP (I am assuming this will be the one you switch to). They will be slower though, Windows XP has a poor emulator, it is much more stable, but slower.

You can not make Windows programs in Qbasic. But you have a wide variety of similar languages that do allow you to use windows features. Visual Basic, Liberty Basic...

Just to add to qbasicking, another language (although it shouldn't be considered a language perse) is the Windows Scrip Hosting (which will allow you to use the "widows features" you spoke of).

On my windows ME, there's a folder called Samples under the Windows folder. I'm certain that XP (home and pro vers) and W2k would have something similar where you can learn from.

--MiggyD

I think it depends a great deal on what you are doing in your QBasic programs.

Which NT OS? 4.0? 5.0 (Windows 2000)? 5.1 (Windows XP)?