Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

questionalbe how to pass question 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

eastinthewest

Technical User
Jun 28, 2007
US
I was testing my knowledge tonite in preperation for my test on friday. Came across a question that HOW2PASS said was incorrect, but call me crazy, I don't think I am wrong. So here it is......

What can you use to telnet from a user's pc directly to a router?

my answer: connect the ethernet port of pc to ethernet port of router using straight through cable.

supposed correct answer: connect the ethernet port of pc to ethernet port of router using crossover cable.

Now I'm no rocket scientist, but from my expirence, when connecting unlike devices, you use a straight cable, like devices crossover cable.

this is the explanation of the question from how2pass:
You connect a pc directly to a router using a crossover. one end connected to the nic and the other to the ethernet port of router. after network configuration you can telnet to the router.

Now, am I stupid or does this make sense?

similar devices need x-over cables..... Now with that said there are several devices that auto sence....

“Reserve your right to think, for even to think wrongly is better than not to think at all”

Tek-TIP Member 19,650
[americanflag]

Hello
The how2pass answer is correct.Actually the router ethernet acts like a NIC,so you will need a crossover cable.This is where having real routers in a home labs for the CCNA comes in handy.Not touching a router and becoming a CCNA,can be very embarrassing for your first day on the job.
Regards