Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Question on truncate and delete. 2

Status
Not open for further replies.

EdRev

Programmer
Aug 29, 2000
US
I am a newbie on SQL (and Oracle for that matter)and I need help with the delete and truncate command. On the textbook I am referencing, the sample code for delete and truncate removes all records from a table.

delete tbl or truncate tbl.

Can I truncate or delete the rcords from a specific column?
I have this table structure Unit, Account, Jan-Dec and depending on the current month, I need to "clear" the data for that month. Can I do this with truncate or delete, or is there another command for this? Can I have a where clause on truncate?

Any help will be greatly appreciated.

You can't specify a where clause for a truncate, but you can for the delete command:
delete from tbl where month = 'dec'

Thanks ek03, but jan-dec are column names.
Can I do this:

delete jan from tbl

almost sounds like you want to

update tbl set datacol = Null where period = 'DEC';

where datacol is the column you want to clear and period is the accounting period you want to clear, but I can't tell for sure from the problem as described I tried to remain child-like, all I acheived was childish.

I'm not sure what you want to do - are you looking for a way to set the data in one column to null? If so, you can do an update like jimbopalmer suggested - update tbl set Jan = null

Thanks jimbopalmer!! I thnk that's where I'm going at.
With millions of records to evaluate and update, does it make a difference if I create a stored procedure to do this than to execute the sql on my script?

update tbl set jan=null where unit=strUnit and account=straccount;