Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

question in re: borders, designs, etc.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Technical User
Sep 26, 2003
US
Hello. I'm still fairly new at PageMaker and need to design an ad. Are there any websites where I can find free professional looking borders and designs that I can simply copy and paste? Is there a way to change the color of the borders and designs once I've found the one I like?

These aren't free ( but if you google for 'pagemaker borders', you might find some that are free. There may even be some borders in one of the templates that come packaged with PM. Usually the templates are found under wherever your PM program files are, in a subfolder called templates.

Re colouring borders. If they are available as a greyscale TIF, then yes, you can add colour from within PM, but keep in mind that PM is primarily a layout program, not a graphics program. It may be easier to achieve what you want by designing the borders first in a graphics program (Photoshop, Illustrator - where there may be suitable border graphics) and adding colour before saving in a format suitable for placing in PM such as TIF for raster graphics and EPS for vector (which will only print properly on a postscript printer - convert to a PDF first otherwise).

Thank you for the info. Is there a difference between Photshop and Photoshop Illustrator?

There's no such thing as 'Photoshop Illustrator'.

Photoshop is Adobe's raster graphics program, used primarily for editing photos, or any other manipulations of graphics composed of pixels.