Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Question from beginner... 3

Status
Not open for further replies.

code2high

ISP
Feb 7, 2002
US
I am trying to create big, bold text and put an image inside the text. How do I go about this? One of my friends said something about transparency but I am just starting to learn this and I need a step-by-step process. Thank you!!

Hi code2high,

This is pretty simple:

1: Select the type icon from the toolbar
2: In the tool properties bar (just under the menu across the top) select the icon that looks like a T with a dotted outline
3: Type your text into the window, then select any other tool
4: Your text should appear as a dotted selection in your picture
5: Go to the image you want to appear behind the text, select it and copy
6: Go back to the text image and select Edit>Paste Into
7: Use the Move Tool to position the image however you want it within the text.

Hope this helps :) Nick (Web Designer)

nick@retrographics.co.uk

This may or may not be better but you can try this too.
1.) Open a new frame
2.) Select the big T in the tool bar
3.) Type in what you want. You can write in what size
font you want to use, ie, 150 point or 200 point.
4.) Bring up your image or photo. Copy it and then paste it into the earlier window with the text. Now you will have two layers~one with the text and above this the layer with the photo.
5.) Place the cursor between the two layers. Hold down the Control key (Ctrl)and then left click the mouse when you see the small hockeypuck type of icon between the two layers.