Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Question about vlans

Status
Not open for further replies.

comptek

Technical User
Nov 8, 2002
US
Hi guys this may be a multi-part thread.

I am a pc tech learing networking. We have implement something called vlans I guess to segment our network. From what I understand is that w/o the vlans each and everything on our network saw all traffic. For example our server's saw printer requests etc. After the vlans were put into place our servers are now on there own vlans and other vlans like network admin vlans were created also. My question is if a vlan (server) was on it's own vlan how can it still process requests for services like dns dhcp or file services? Vlans dont isolate things from what it looks like. Sorry but my knowledge of networks is not that great. I have more questions to ask after this. Any information would help. Examples would be great too.

Thanks

Comptek

Comptek
A+, Network+

A Vlan keeps all broadcasts bundled together. It does not however route traffic, which is why regardless of Vlans you can still communicate to devices on your network still. (Unless you setup the Vlan to block traffic to another Vlan).

Computer/Network Technician
CCNA

VLANs do segment traffic. To communicate between VLANs you will need a router or a layer three switch.