Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Question about Autonum

Status
Not open for further replies.

djmurphy58

Technical User
Feb 28, 2003
US
I am setting up a databse to track RFIs (Requests For Information). The first RFI I will type in shall be given the number 0001. Subsequent RFIs will be 0002, 0003, 0004, etc. I know that Autonum will do this, but here's my issue: (Keep in mind I'm a beginner Access user).

During the course of setting up my DB I have created several "trial" RFIs to make sure my DB is working properly. In fact I have created 57 "trial" ones so far. Therefore, when I go to add the next RFI, Access will assign it #58. But I don't want that to happen when I actually start using this DB for real. When I put my first real RFI in, I want it to automatically be given 0001. Is there a way I can do this.....I guess I'm looking to "reset" the Autonum feature so that it starts at 0001 again.

Also, along the same lines....I sometimes need to be able to assign an RFI a number such as 0001A, 0002B, etc. For example, if RFI #0007 comes back with a response that is not sufficient, I need to create a follow-up question and assign it #0007A. That way I know that #0007A is a follow-up to #0007. Otherwise, if I am not able to do this, a follow-up RFI to #0007 may for example be #0048 because that might be the next available number. That's not very logical.

Does anyone know how to do this.......be able to override the autonum feature and type in a number like #0007A???

Thanks in advance,
Dennis

Hi Dennis,

When you do finally deploy your database and you want it to start at 0001 then here is what you need to do:

Delete all the info in your table and then go to