Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Question about area codes

Status
Not open for further replies.

Timbeaux

Technical User
Jun 25, 2021
US
Let me start off with saying I'm an extreme newb. The guy that used to handle our PBX left the company last December and this was dumped in my lap. My background? Physical Security. I guess management figured that with my background of dealing with alarm and access control systems I could handle this. I just need to keep it running until the end of the year when we upgrade to VOIP. This forum has helped me out tremendously when I google problems we may have.

Here's my question...Here in Northern Va we have 2 area codes, 703 and 571. On our phones we have to dial a 1 before the 571, but not 703. At a previous building I used to sit we didn't have to dial 1 before either and it had the same PBX (CS1000). Can someone tell me how I can change this? Can I remove the 1 for all area codes?

Thanks

Although I'm more used to using SPN's as I'm in the UK, my guess is that you are using NXX etc in LD 90 for all your area codes?.

I would capture all your data first using the tool and guide contained in the attached file. after you have done this, you should be able to work out what area codes have been configured.

I'd do it for both Nortel systems. Once you have the data, you should be able to add in any missing codes.

Firebird Scrambler

Nortel & Avaya Meridian 1 / Succession & BCM / Norstar Programmer

Website = linkedin