Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Querying OLAP cubes 3

Status
Not open for further replies.

joelwenzel

Programmer
Jun 28, 2002
Hi,

I am new to star schema's a cubes. I'm making reports based on a star schema. When I query, do I query the sql server database like

SELECT factvalue FROM FACT JOIN DIM_TIME ON DIM_TIME.year= 1999 AND FACT.timeid= DIM_TIME.timeid

Or do I somehow just query analysis services?

if you are using Cubes then your queries don't utilize T-SQL or even any SQL which would look like:
Code:
Select
d1.DimMember,
d2.DimMember,
f.FactValue
From Fact f
   JOIN dim1 d1 ON d1.sk = f.sk
   JOIN dim2 d2 ON d2.sk = f.sk

But rather utilize MDX which basically looks like the following.

Code:
SELECT
CROSSJOIN({Dim1.Level1.Members},{Dim2.Level3.Members}) On Columns,
Measures.FactValue On Rows
From MyCube
Where DateDimension.Year.@005

This is not to say that you can't report using SQL directly against your tables using T-SQL which you could do and would be considered ROLAP , which is different than a rolap cube which would still use MDX. Also you can use query analyzer to query your cubes using OPENQUERY but again using MDX. There are a few MDX query tools available a couple even allow drag and drop query development or AS ships with the MDX sample app which is a bare bones MDX query tool.

If you have never used MDX it can be a real pain to get used to or even understand the basics. I recommend the Book by George Spofford which unfortunately I don't remember the name of or have with me at the time.

Shoot Me! Shoot Me NOW!!!
- Daffy Duck

I will look it up. Is there any reason taht I should use MDX then? I'm assuming it is faster then a straight TSQL query, right?