Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Public MySQL Connection

Status
Not open for further replies.

TGrahmann

Programmer
Feb 19, 2015
US
Hi, I'm fairly new to VB.net, but I'm curious if it's possible to create a MySQL Connection and make it Public/Global to where multiple Subs/source files could use it. Any solutions would be greatly appreciated!
Thanks,
Ty

Yes it is. Right-click the project in Solution Explorer, then select Add->Module. Give the module a name and click Add. You can the create the connection object there, as Public, and it will be visible to the entire project. When referencing global variables in modules, I like to include the module name (e.g., Module1.Connection1), even though the module name is not required. It just keeps things clear, that the connection is defined in a module.

I used to rock and roll every night and party every day. Then it was every other day. Now I'm lucky if I can find 30 minutes a week in which to get funky. - Homer Simpson

Arrrr, mateys! Ye needs ta be preparin' yerselves fer Talk Like a Pirate Day!

This is just one way of doing this. There are a number of ways to approach what you want.
Generally I create a new VB.Net App_code module containing a Class named:
Public Class DataClass​

And within that class I have 3 separate Functions to use anywhere in my code;
1) GetDataSet(ByVal SQLQueryStr as String) ' <-- Returns Records from Database
2) ExecuteNonQuery(ByVal SQLQueryStr as String) ' <-- Runs Updates/Deletes/Etc. not requiring Record(s) Return
3) GetDataReader(ByVal SQLQueryStr As String) ' <-- Used as part of Gridview ObjectDataSource SelectMethod