Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

PSPX edit logo w/magic wand and saving for later use

Status
Not open for further replies.

jlrommel

Technical User
Aug 17, 2007
US
I am a newbie to the program and am trying to paste a logo on photographs before I send them out to my sales force for use. However, I am encountering a problem in that the logo supplied to me had a white background. I researched, and it seems that using the magic wand was the best way to delete the background from logo. Took me several hours as I have the word company and solutions in it, so the "o"s, the area between the "i" and the "t" the loops of the M's - all of the white space within these areas needed to be removed so that the background of the photo appeared through, basically making it a transparent area. I did this through adding a new selection. Finally got it, then saved it in several formats. Copied it and pasted as a new layer. Saved all those "new" photos and i know it mentioned something in the save box about having to merge layers. That was mistake #2.

I quit, go back to do it again a while later, and there is a white background on every single copy of the logo that I saved, no matter what the format.

Question #1: How should I have saved that formatted logo?
Question #2: When I saved the new photos with logo, and it gave me the merging fles yes or no box, I should have checked no so that it didn't merge all the layers together. But how should I have saved it? Is there a way to save it with all of the individual layers intact?

Question #3: Now that I have my edited logo embedded into my photographs, is there anyway to strip apart the layers to retrieve the translucent logo?