Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Propagation is taking its time

Status
Not open for further replies.

mmyouthnet

IS-IT--Management
Feb 22, 2006
GB
The admin console shows that the our machines have been discovered but the client push installation and subsequent recognition of the Advanced client existing on the computers is taking very long time.

It's been three days since SMS has been on our network and only 30 out of 55 clients have are shown as having the Advanced client installed in the Admin Console.

As an SMS newbie I'd appreciate any help with this.

Thanks

A couple things to look at would be:

On the client local machine make sure the client really isnt there (it might be but hasnt be able to update itself)

If there really isn't a client on it make sure it is in a boundary, you can usually tell by it having no assignment to a site in the admin console

Good point Tim!

I assume you have client push installed and enabled to install as discovered? Or, are you manually running client push?

If the resources are showing up as not assigned.. sometimes this may be due to a class B subnet or an AD site that's using a class B subnet. If they are showing as unassigned, you can puch the client and during the wizard, uncheck the box to allow deployment to unassigned workstations. Either way, check the ccm.log and you can see the push to each workstation and server. if is can connect, no errors will be shown. if you get error 53, the resource is not available. If you get error 5, then it's a permission issue.

Brian Tucker
The Blogcast Repository