Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Progression 7.7 Reset Allocations (running 4+ days)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Vachaun22

Programmer
Oct 7, 2003
US
I am new to the Macola ERP software, and have had no training whatsoever.

I am the administrator of the server and working on an issue that has been here since I started with the company, and our support doesn't really support us...

I am having an issue with the reset allocations process.

I can only seem to get it to run relatively stable on the server itself, as clients tend to error out. When running the software, it is showing as not responding. My guess is that it is just poorly coded and has no progress monitoring in the process itself.

When I look in the Activity Monitor in SQL Server, I can watch the particular session IDs associated with the process and see that every about 15-30 seconds an insert is issued. When I trace the session, it seems to be select after select after select. The week before this, I traced the entire process and ended up with ~120 GB of trace information. At only a few bytes per trace line, that seems to be a HUGELY inefficient process. Our company isn't that big to have that much information to cause a trace of that size...

This weekend, I started the process on Friday evening. As of this morning (Wednesday), the process is *still* running.