Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Programming Rant 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

Stevehewitt

IS-IT--Management
Jun 7, 2001
GB
Hey,

This thread is quite pointless, but I need to let off steam before I kill someone in management.

I'm not a programmer. I work in IT as the systems manager. Just me, I do the lot. Helpdesk, Mail admin, Network tech, Hardware tech, webmaster - the works.

I wanted to expand my knowledge by playing with new stuff. This happended to by Access.

Since November time, I have purchased books, CD's and other reading material on how to programming using Access, VBA and SQL.
I decided to create a stock control program for my company. We currently keep all records on a excel spreadsheet. To cut a long story short, its crap. We still can't close off our end of year accounts cause we don't know what we sold from stock. (End of Year is December)

I've had no input even though I requested it, no training, no assistance and no feedback during testing.
I lived with this until now, because I handed in my notice 2 weeks ago.

Management has finally caught on that this program will save 100's of man hours and are using it.

But only NOW, with 2 weeks notice left to serve are they making changes.

AAAAAHHHHHHHHH!!! 6 MONTHS IN DEVELOPMENT, AND THEY ONLY TELL ME WHEN ITS FINISHED & I HAVE JUST 2 WEEKS LEFT!!!

End of Rant! ;-)

Steve

Welcome to the world of programming!