Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Program a different Outgoing Caller ID 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

ahmun

IS-IT--Management
Jan 7, 2002
US
Hi Tek-Tip Gurus!

I'm trying to program my extension to broadcast my DID as its Outgoing CAller ID instead of the main line at our office.

I have limited knowledge of our phone system, but maybe the following descriptors will help you figure out how to help me!

I ask because our company won't justify calling in a technician just so I can customize my handset's outgoing Caller ID.

1. We have a Nortel System with a T1-PRI
2. I have basic understanding of system programming (using **CONFIG + the Admin Password)
3. I use a Nortel T7316, and even without the programming overlay, have figured out what are my show/back/forward buttons.
4. I'm willing to (carefully) do trial-and error and experiment with the different features of the admin menu. (I don't have a manual, and haven't been able to find one online)

I have hunted around the web and found tips that say to go to the "end of line access programming", but I haven't been able to figure out where that is.

I did manage to find a "lines" branch of the menu:
1. **CONFIG
2. (password)
3. Press the Next button to get to lines
4. Searched for my handset's line number
5. Changed it's "name" to my DID number

I didn't expect that to work... but tried it. There were no adverse effects, but no solution, either.

Any tips gladly welcomed!

Cheers.

Earnie Eng

You might find the Telco is where the main number is coming from, ask them how they are set up on this circuit. You should also be able to ask them what they are seeing from you on the circuit for caller ID at the C.O.