Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

professionally recorded mp3 or .wav onto answering machine issue

Status
Not open for further replies.

RupertA

Programmer
Jun 1, 2012
GB
Hi there,

I am a programmer and have started a home business. Don't know much about telephony, so please excuse my ignorance. I am in the UK.

I need to buy a telephone and answering machine kit. I want to get a professionally recorded answering machine message done. That is no problem, loads of websites and they email u your mp3. However, I have spent hours on the web trying to work out how u get that mp3 or .wav onto an answering machine??? What kit do I need? Any links would be VERY much appreciated. All I am seeing is telephones with answering machines, which come with a prerecorded message and u can record your own. I do not see any system where u can upload your already pre-recorded mp3 or wav.

The best solution I am finding at the moment is that I get a telephone/answering machine with remote access. Then in the studio, the voice over artist actually dials in and tries to record himself directly onto my answering machine.

I had kinda assumed in 2012 that u could be buy a telephone and answering system where u could upload an mp3 or wav and select that as your answering machine message. And more to the point, what do all the customers who receive their mp3 of their answering machine message do with it???

Mystified.

Thanks for any advice.

Consumer-based answering machines really aren't manufactured with the expectation that a professionally recorded greeting will be used. Thus your options include:

.Use the out of box generic message the machine is shipped with.