Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Professional Guidence Please :)

Status
Not open for further replies.

VBMan

Programmer
Jul 1, 2000
US
Dear Pros,
I have been told by my tutor that I'm wasting my time on Unix and learning C. I personally don't belive this, but I'm not a pro. I'm a kid in a basement :). He clams that learning Java and Windows is better. My theory is that C is the language most (including Java) other languages are copied from. Can anyone shead any light on my predicament.

Thanks,
Ben

LEARN IT ALL
I mean, for playing and learning with an OS, I find any *nix box to be fun and challenging and not as (forgive me windows lovers) "single-minded" as windows. Windows, while it is great for usabibitily as compared to *nix, I find it lacks things like customability and variance. However, with that said, learning a *nix box is a big undertaking if you want to teach yourself (it's also rewarding), and you will understand why computers behave the way they do.
As for languages I would say that an extreme majority of *nix users are at least versed in C, while the same is not entirely true of Windows users. In regards to Java being "better" as your tutor puts it, he's kinda, but not exactly, right. Java is known for its "code once, run everywhere" idealism while C is and can be processor specific. But for me C is a more enjoyable experience since I love having the stack at my dismissal (insert evil laugh). Java however, even with it's restrictions, deals with private and public, and is Object Orientated. They both have great plus' and minus'.