Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

ProComm and SSH, KXBoy CygWin solution

Status
Not open for further replies.

mrgmhale

Programmer
Aug 8, 2002
US
Several years ago KXBoy wrote a How To article on how to connect ProComm to a target server via SSH (Procomm Plus and SSH, thread448-1731185). I have no experience using CygWin, and tried to follow the instructions. But apparently there have been some changes within CygWin and the directions provided do not correlate to how CygWin is responding to me in some areas. I am interested to see if anyone has any more recent information on his solution. Of course, I would be fine with communication with KXBoy directly as well.

Hello,

I just reviewed the steps and compared them to my notes and they seem correct. However, it has been a couple of years since I installed Cygwin and configured it to use telnet. It is possible that the Cygwin packages may have changed, or some of the prompts may be different. I did notice that in the install instructions, the util-linux package is now in the base section and no longer in the system section.

Can you give some additional details on what your issues are? Also, when I set this up on my PC, I used Windows 7. I've not tried this on Windows 10, the procedures maybe a little different