Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

proc doesn't work when called from trigger

Status
Not open for further replies.

cadoltt

Programmer
Jun 9, 2005
CA
Hello everybody,

I am not experienced in writing table triggers and I'm stuck with something I don't really understand.

I have a table which keeps track of treatments patients receive. It has a composite primary key pt_id + treatment_number. The treatments should be numbered sequentially depending on the dates they take place. However they don't necessarily come for data entry in their natural order that's why I need to re-number them at insert stage.

Here is the trigger:

Code:
CREATE OR REPLACE TRIGGER trg_trt
  AFTER INSERT 
  ON tbl_treatment
  FOR EACH ROW
DECLARE
 i integer;
BEGIN
  i := PKG_TRG_PRC.i_reorder_trt_no(:NEW.pt_id);
  dbms_output.put_line('i_err = ' || i);
END trg_trt;

And here is the function which is supposed to to the job:

Code:
  FUNCTION i_reorder_trt_no(in_pt_id IN INTEGER)
  RETURN INTEGER AS
    i_row_no                INTEGER;
    i_position              INTEGER;

CURSOR crs_trt IS SELECT treatment_number,                                                     DT_CRT_DATE_FROMPARTS(year,mon,day) AS dt_trt
                       FROM tbl_Treatment
                       WHERE pt_id = in_pt_id
                       ORDER BY dt_trt
                       FOR UPDATE OF treatment_number;

row_crs_trt crs_trt%ROWTYPE;

BEGIN

i_position := 1;

--first step - assign large numbers beyond possible limit 
    --to avoid PK violation
    OPEN crs_trt;

LOOP
        FETCH crs_trt INTO row_crs_trt; -- retrieve a row from table
        EXIT WHEN crs_trt%NOTFOUND;

UPDATE tbl_treatment