Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Problems pasting a picture from MS Word into Adobe Photoshop CS

Status
Not open for further replies.

TOTCOM11

Programmer
Aug 5, 2003
US
I am fairly new to working with Photoshop CS. I am trying to paste a picture form a Microsoft Word document into a new document in Photoshop CS. When I do so, the picture pastes fine except that the image is very pixelated. What am I doing wrong? I know previous versions did not have this problem for me. Also if I try pasting into Adobe Illustrator CS, I don't have any problems either. Unfortunately I do not have Illustrator on this machine at work. Can someone tell me what I'm doing wrong?

Thank you in advance,
Chris

I have already done that, and I still get the distortion when I paste. Any other suggestions?

I've already tried that as well. No luck.

Sounds to me like the pic in Word is really only 72 dpi... Don't know why it would look ok in Illustrator though. Can you enlarge the pic in Word before you copy it to force the resolution to be a little better, or does that make it too pixelated to copy?

Yeah, the resolution really doesn't have any bearing on the pixelation. I cranked the new photoshop document to 300 dpi before pasting it, and I still got the pixelation problem. In previous versions of Photoshop I never had any of these issues. It's just kind of wierd and frustrating. Thanks for your tips though :)

"Yeah, the resolution really doesn't have any bearing on the pixelation.  I cranked the new photoshop document to 300 dpi before pasting it, and I still got the pixelation problem."