Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Problem with reading in lines that contain carriage returns 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

Timtico

Technical User
Dec 20, 2008
NL
Hi, I'm a scientist using PERL to write some very handy scripts. I spent alot of hours writing my first script, and it works very well! however I'm running into some problems:

This is the type of info that I use as input, it's contained in a plain text file (txt):

An15g05370
An09g00720
An04g05050
An16g03160
An08g11930

This is part of the program I use to populate an array line by line based on the above textfile:

print "\nPlease type the name of the file with geneIDs and press ENTER: ";
$lookupfile_name = <STDIN>;
chomp $lookupfile_name;

#Opening the lookupfile containing the GeneID's and
open (LOOKUPFILE, "$lookupfile_name") or (die "\n\nSomething terrible has gone wrong! The file you specified could not be opened\n\n");

while ($input = <LOOKUPFILE>)
{
$input =~ s/\r//g;
push (@lookupgenes, $input);
}

I tried a number of different substitutions to get rid of the \r (eg. s/\r/\n//g) but nothing seems to work.

For some reason PERL doesnt replace the \r in the input file. However, when I manually replace \r with \n using the advanced search and replace function in my text editor and use that modified file, my script works perfectly fine!
however, I'm unable to remove all \r using PERL.

Did chomp not work on the input from your text file?

I was thinking that chomp only removes \n, anyway the following code is not working either to remove carriage returns.

the following code is not working either

{
chomp $input;
$input =~ s/\r//g;
}

{
$input =~ s/\r//g;
chomp $input;
}