Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Problem with math function 3

Status
Not open for further replies.

atascoman

Technical User
Oct 10, 2003
US
Hello, novice here again :) I can get the valjobtotal.text field to populate correctly. If I take the FormatCurrency option off, it just puts the two values in the field instead of adding them together. What am I missing?

Private Sub Button1_Click(ByVal sender As System.Object, ByVal e As System.EventArgs) Handles Button1.Click
Dim promo1total, promo2total, promo3total, jobtotal As Object

valfttotal.Text = (vallength.Text * valwidth.Text) * valprints.Text
valprinttotal.Text = FormatCurrency(valfttotal.Text * valftcost.Text, 2)

promo1total = (valpromo1.Text * valpromo1cost.Text)
promo2total = (valpromo2.Text * valpromo2cost.Text)
promo3total = (valpromo3.Text * valpromo3cost.Text)

valpromototal.Text = FormatCurrency(promo1total + promo2total + promo3total, 2)
jobtotal = (valprinttotal.Text + valpromototal.Text)
valjobtotal.Text = FormatCurrency(jobtotal, 2)

End Sub

The problem is that the .Text property holds a string representation of what is entered into the text box. What you need to do is add some code to convert the strings into a numeric value, then perform mathematical operations upon them. The FormatCurrency converts the text to a numeric and adds the regional string representations of the currency markers.

im in ur stakz, overflowin ur heapz!

Thanks. I am having trouble figuring out how to do that. Can you give me an example of converting it to a number. It will work fine if I multiply or divide the values, but not when I try and add them.

Depending on the type of number you are expecting in your text controls:

Code: