Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Problem with Dlookup function used in VBA DoCmd.RunSQL method 2

Status
Not open for further replies.

Flo79

Technical User
Nov 12, 2002
US
The DoCmd.RunSQL method below keeps returning me the error "Criteria Type Mismatch". I believe that this error can be traced to the Dlookup fnction that I use inside my SQL code. I am new to writing VBA modules in Access (and to using VBA in general. Is there an obvious mistake someone can point out? Any tips for using this kind of code in VBA?

Your help is greatly appreciated!

Rgards,

Flo 79

'My Code
-----------------------------------------------------------

On Error GoTo Delete_Categories2_Err
Dim ID_New As Long
Dim ID_Old As Long
ID_New = Me.ID_New.Value
ID_Old = Me.ID_Old.Value

DoCmd.SetWarnings False
If (Eval("'" & ID_New & "' is not null")) Then

DoCmd.RunSQL "UPDATE Item_SubCategories INNER JOIN Transactions ON Item_SubCategories.SubCategoryID = Transactions.SubCategoryID SET Transactions.SubCategoryID = '" DLookup("[SubCategoryID]", "Item_SubCategories", "[CategoryID]='" & ID_New & "' AND [SubCategoryName]='<Unfiled>'") & "'" & _
"WHERE (((Transactions.SubCategoryID)= '" & DLookup("[SubCategoryID]", "Item_SubCategories", "[CategoryID]='" & ID_Old & "' AND [SubCategoryName]='<Unfiled>'") & "')));"

End If

I think you just need to put an ampersand (&) before the first DLookup.

If that doesn't work, I'd suggest creating some variables to hold the DLookup'ed values, so you can get the function calls out of the SQL statement. They make it really hard to follow. If you replace them with variables, the syntax would be easy to follow, and you might just see the problem yourself.

Rick Sprague