Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Problem with displaying picturesboxes at runtime 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

angelpro

Programmer
Dec 20, 2011
Hello, I am new to VB.NET 2005 and what I am trying to do is to create an array of picture boxes at runtime and to display them to the form. Here is my code I have tried so far. If I run it step by step, when the first item of the array is showed on the form the counter increases at 1 then next item appears normally but the previous item disappears. Any help will be much appreciated. Thank you in advanced.

Private Sub loadqueens()
Dim pics(2) As PictureBox
Dim cnt As Integer = pics.Length
Dim i As Integer
Dim pb As New PictureBox
For i = 0 To cnt - 1
pics(i) = New PictureBox
pics(i) = pb
Next
i = 0

For i = i To cnt - 1
pics(i).Parent = Me
pics(i).Image = My.Resources.black_king_2d_icon
x = x + pics(i).Width
y = y

pics(i).Location = New System.Drawing.Point _
(x, y)

MsgBox(pics(i).Location.X)

pics(i).Visible = True
Me.Controls.Add(pics(i))
Next

End Sub

The problem is the line marked in red below. Remove that line and the code works.

Private Sub loadqueens()
Dim pics(2) As PictureBox
Dim cnt As Integer = pics.Length
Dim i As Integer
Dim pb As New PictureBox
For i = 0 To cnt - 1
pics(i) = New PictureBox
[red]pics(i) = pb <--------------REMOVE THIS LINE[/red]
Next
i = 0

For i = i To cnt - 1
pics(i).Parent = Me
pics(i).Image = My.Resources.black_king_2d_icon
x = x + pics(i).Width
y = y

pics(i).Location = New System.Drawing.Point _
(x, y)

MsgBox(pics(i).Location.X)

pics(i).Visible = True
Me.Controls.Add(pics(i))
Next

End Sub