Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Problem with converting string to hex 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

jrogersnd

MIS
Oct 21, 2002
US
Hi everyone,

I'm a bit of a newbie when it comes to scripting, but I'm learning at a reasonable pace. I'm attempting to write a script that will set the Office XP username and user initials in the windows registry through Active Directory automatically when the user logs into the domain. I'm doing this using VBScript. Unfortunately I have found no easy way to convert to hexadecimal in order to put the registry key in the registry. Too bad Microsoft couldn't just put the values in the registry as string to be easier to manage.

Anyway, I start off by getting the username from login using the WScript.Network Username method - no problem. I then create the object for WScript.Shell for registry access. The problem I'm having is this: I convert the username from string to ascii code using this code...

' Create WSH objects
Set nw = CreateObject("WScript.Network")
Set WshShell = CreateObject("WScript.Shell")

'Get username
strUserName = nw.username

'Get length of username
max = len(strUserName)

'Start Processing username (Have to do it backwards because that's how it needs to go into the reg)
For intLoop = max to 1 step -1
'convert to ascii
asciiName = asc(mid(strUserName, intLoop, 1))
'convert to hex
hexName = hex(asciiName)
'concatenate hex string
newUserName = newUserName & hexName
Next

msgbox newUserName

What I do after this - I have no clue. How do I get the newUserName variable back as an integer? The registry writes I have no problem with - it's just the conversion back to integer that has me stuck.