Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Problem with an old tape from an old storage unit. 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

RexSti

IS-IT--Management
May 24, 2004
US
This is my current situation. I am new to NetBackup, but I have gone through 5.0 training and all that good stuff, so I know my way around it.

1) Got a restore request, for data that was backed up a year ago.

2) This tape was part of a storage unit that a system of ours used to manage. (when I got hired I figured that there were too many media servers, so I took a few out and spread out the tape drives on the stacker.) The old machine still exists, and the entry for the media server information is still there as well. I had just told NB that there are no drives allocated to this storage unit, and had moved all the classes to using the new storage unit. I figured that whenever I would need to run a restore on an old tape, I could just run a bpmedia -movedb -ev XXXXXX -oldserver XXX -newserver XXX, and it would work. It seems that I am wrong.

3) Tried to run a restore before moving the tapes metadata, got a 5 error, read write error. used bpmedia and moved the meta data from the old storage unit to the new, still got the same error message.

3) Because of the fact that it was a DLT tape (We are currently using SuperDLTs), I tried a UNIX based backup and ran it. Worked fine.

4) Ran bpmedialist -h xxx | grep xxx, found the tape's metadata on the new storage units database. I also tacked FORCE_RESTORE_MEDIA_SERVER = oldserver newserver, onto the new server's bp.conf.