Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Problem Joining Win2K Server to NT4.0 Domain

Status
Not open for further replies.

Darts

Technical User
Apr 8, 2002
CA
I am a container admin on a larger network and have the abilility to create computer accounts on the NT4.0 domain.

We have a new Win2K Advanced server that needs to be joined to the existing domain as a member server. When I specify the domain name I get prompted for credentials - so far, so good - but after about 20 seconds of thinking about it, a message saying that no corresponding computer account exists for this machine. NT provides the option of creating the computer account when joining a domain - I can't find the same option on the Win2K server.

I suppose (in theory) I could turn the server off (to avoid a name conflict), rename a spare NT machine to the server's name and join that to the domain - thus creating the account in the process. Then afterwards unplug the spare machine and try it again from the server. Seems like a back-asswards way of doing it - if it would even work to begin with. I'm almost tempted to try it, but there must be a better way...

[morning] Darts

Log onto the Server as a local admin. Right click on "My Computer" and select "Properties". Select the "Network Identification" tab. Change from workgroup to domain and type your domain name. You will be prompted for credentials to join the domain.