Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Problem Getting Header, Detail, Trailer Records Into Same File

Status
Not open for further replies.

fuzzyocelot

Programmer
Jul 22, 2003
US
I'm running SQL Server 2005 locally on my computer under Windows XP. I'm new to SQL Server 2005 and SSIS, although I've used SQL Server 2000 DTS for the last year. Here is my problem that I hope someone will be able to help me with.

I need to get the data from three different database tables into the same file three times with a few variations. The first table contains 3 header records. The second table contains many detail records. The third table contains 3 trailer records. I need to write the correct header record to the correct file followed by the corresponding detail records and then the corresponding trailer record. The records must be fixed length in the file. The biggest problem I'm having is that the column lengths between the header, detail, and trailer records are different. However, the total length of every record is 800 characters. So, for example, in the header records I have 14 columns and they do not "line up" with the detail or trailer columns. The detail records have 60 columns and the trailer records have 4 columns.