Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Problem connecting to oracle 10g database.

Status
Not open for further replies.

dabiri

Technical User
Dec 8, 2014
US
Hi,
I have a simple vbscript that I had used to connect to an Oracle 10g database and execute simple queries. the database is on a server the vbscript was on my windows-XP machine.
Now the script has been moved to a windows 7-64 bit machine and I'm getting an error when I execute the script. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Here's the script:
Code:
strCon = "Driver={Microsoft ODBC for Oracle}; " & _
        "CONNECTSTRING=(DESCRIPTION=" & _
        "(ADDRESS=(PROTOCOL=TCP)" & _
        "(HOST=xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx.)(PORT=1521))" & _
        "(CONNECT_DATA=(SERVICE_NAME=sid1))); uid=xxxxxx;pwd=xxxxxx;" 
     Set objConn = WScript.CreateObject("ADODB.Connection")    
     Set objRs = WScript.CreateObject("ADODB.Recordset")
     objConn.Open strCon

When I execute the script, this is the error message that I get:
Error: [Microsoft][ODBC Driver Manager] Data source name not
found and no default driver specified.

you need to install the correct client - depending on whether your application runs in 32 or 64 bit you need to install the corresponding Oracle Client (do not install the instant client version) - and you probably also don't have the correct Microsoft odbc client installed and for this I would advise you to use the Oracle client instead of the old Microsoft one.

Regards

Frederico Fonseca
SysSoft Integrated Ltd

FAQ219-2884
FAQ181-2886

dabiri said:
Driver={Microsoft ODBC for Oracle};
What? It's widely known that the Windoze driver for Oracle has problems (bugs?).