Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Private variables cause exceptions, how to use RegisterClass?

Status
Not open for further replies.

crockeea

Programmer
Feb 9, 2010
US
I'm pretty new to Delphi, and I'm not very clear about how classes work yet in Delphi.

Here is my code:
Code:
unit DatabaseForm;

interface

uses
  SysUtils, Forms, Dialogs, Classes, ACRMain, Db, Utility;

type
   TDBForm = class(TForm)
   private
     { Private declarations }
     SSA_Database: TACRDatabase;
     function  CreateDatabase(): Integer;
  end;

var
  DBForm: TDBForm;

implementation
{$R *.DFM}

function TDBForm.CreateDatabase(): Integer;
Begin
   SSA_Database.CreateDatabase();
   CreateDatabase := 1;
end;

initialization
   RegisterClass(TACRDatabase);
end.

I want to encapsulate SSA_Database and make it private. It is published by default (since this is a form), and if I leave SSA_Database as published or public, it works fine. When I make it private, however (WITHOUT the initialization section) I get the following RUNTIME error:

Exception EClassNotFound in module Project1.exe at <address>. Class TACRDatabase not found.

After some searching, I found some suggestions that I need to add the initialization section with the RegisterClass(TACRDatabase) call.

This results in the following RUNTIME error:
Exception EAccessViolation in module Project1.exe at <address>.
Access Violation at address <address> in module 'Project1.exe'. Read of address <address near 0>

I really don't know what the RegisterClass call accomplishes or why I need it, but I'm apparently doing it wrong.

Thanks for any help!

no need for registerclass().

Code:
 type
  TMyObject = class(TObject)
    procedure DoSomething; 
  end;