Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Printing Spot Colors 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

4myinfo

Technical User
Nov 3, 2008
US
Hello! I am setting up a 2 color booklet for printing. I have indicated my colors, black-white and Pantone 281. When I pre-flight it I get the message that I have "3 process inks; 1 spot ink and publication contains 1 duplicate spot color"and CMS is on. I am new to InDesign from Quark so things are confusing to me. In The symbols I have beside my Pantone color in the swatches panel are the spot color symbol and the process color symbol. The problem appears to be coming from a gradient that is Pantone 281 and white. I don't know how that would cause the problem but, that is what shows in the seperations preview. Any help is greatly appreciated!

Go to Window>Output>Separations

On the VIEW select Separations

You should be always given CMYK and the spot colour should be underneath them.

Don't worry the CMYK is just standard to viewing the seps.

So if you see two spot colours there (it will be anything other the CMYK) you can go to the FLY ARROW (top right of the panel just beneath the "X")

And Select Ink Manager

Find the culprit spot colour

Select it

And give it an Ink Alias to the correct spot colour.

Other than that, if you see just CMYK and 1 other colour then all you have is 1 spot colour.

If there are 2 other colours or more then you have more than 1 spot colour and you need to Ink Alias (map) to another colour.

You could just delete the swatch from the swatch panel and it will ask to replace the swatch.