Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Print a report based on a field value

Status
Not open for further replies.

johann59

Programmer
Mar 3, 2005
US
I'm kind of new in regards to working with Access. I've worked mostly with Visual FoxPro, but they wanted this project done in Access, so...

I'm about finished with a project done in Access 2007. The only issue I'm having is coming with the code to print a report based on a value in a field.

Have 1 table, 3 reports, 2 forms.

I need help with the code for my print button, f. ex.:

--------------------------
If table1.Field1 = "A"
strDocument = "Report1"
Else
strDocument = "Report2"
End If

DoCmd.OpenReport StrDocument
--------------------------
This will of course, according to me, print the corresponding Report based on field1 having a value of either "A" or "B".

How can I tell Access to read the value from field1? I'm having trouble coming with the correct syntax. Do I have to create a recordset or a query or can I just access the field values directly?

Thanks for the help.

Johann

Can we assume table1 has more than one record? If so, which record are you wanting to pull the value of Field1?

I think you might be going about this wrong but can't tell. Are Report1 and Report2 very similar other than they might be based on different subsets of records?

Duane
Hook'D on Access
MS Access MVP

You're right. I'm missing information on my problem.

Yes, table1 has approx 200,000 records, but all the records have a value of either "A" or "B" in field1.