Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Preparation for 70-291

Status
Not open for further replies.
Sep 1, 2008
US
Hello, I took the 70-291 exam last week and failed. I was wondering if anyone had any suggestions on the best way to prepare for this exam. I got the exam cram for this exam but it really didn't prepare me well enough. I have a lot of experience in networking and server 2003 so I'm really at a loss as to why I didn't do very well. I have to admit, you could know the ins and outs but their questions are very tricky and if you don't know their philosophy of thinking, you probably won't do very well. Any suggestions on how I can better prepare myself? Thank you.

I found the Big Blue MS Press book to be a good study guide for the 70-291.

Denny
MVP
MCSA (2003) / MCDBA (SQL 2000)
MCTS (SQL 2005 / SQL 2008 Implementation and Maintenance / Microsoft Windows SharePoint Services 3.0: Configuration / Microsoft Office SharePoint Server 2007: Configuration)
MCITP Database Admin (SQL 2005/2008) / Database Dev (SQL 2005)

My Blog

On the test results page there should be bar graphs showing which areas you had the most trouble with. That's the first place I would look if I had issues with an exam.

Beyond that, TestOut and MS Press are both good sources.

Hi,

i passed the 70-291 around 2 weeks ago

mains areas by far for me was

DNS DNS DNS DNS DNS
routing and remote access

1 sim on mx records

DNS is by far the largest section but i do not use a routing and remote access server i needed to make note in this area as it ment nothing to me