Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Practical use of pointers to functions!!!!!! 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

dakuneko

Programmer
Nov 17, 2000
SG
I have been studying C for quite a while now. I have reached the point where
I do not know when will I use pointers to functions. What is pointers to functions practical use?

Can someone give me a practical example? Or maybe
point me to a site where there are detailed discussion of the practical
use of pointers to functions.

I believe that this is a strong feature in
C so I really would like to learn it and understand it.

I would really appreciate all your help.

Zagato

Well, I've never used them before, but I could see how they'd be useful, because you could pass a pointer to a function to another function as an argument. I can't think of an example right now, but it would come in handy when you're sorting, etc.

also has some good info on what they're good for. As always, I hope that helped!

Disclaimer:
Beware: Studies have shown that research causes cancer in lab rats.

Hi,
Another possible use could be that structutes in C
contain only data members, not functions. so you can
make a pointer to function a member of a structure.
I havent tried it, but if u do, please let me know what were the results and how useful it was.

Hello,

While interacting with hardware through C,e.g. writing TSRs,we often want to use ROM-BIOS functions which do not have names. So pointers are to be used for calling them.
I know only this use of pointers to functions.