Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Powershell script causes problems since Exchange 2007-2010 upgrade 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

disturbedone

Vendor
Sep 28, 2006
AU
Hi, I'm relatively new to Powershell. A script was written by a contractor to add an AD user & mailbox in our Exchange 2007 environment. We upgraded to 2010 recently and now the script causes a problem.

Having extracted the single line in the script that adds the user/mailbox I've found it is the cause. The script itself generates an error on a later command but that's because the mailbox was not created properly initially.

The command is as follows. Obviously things like $FULLNAME are inputted by the user during the script.

New-Mailbox -Name $FULLNAME -Alias $LOGONALIAS -OrganizationalUnit "grammar.local/CGS/USERS/STAFF" -UserPrincipalName $LOGONALIAS@grammar.local -SamAccountName $LOGONALIAS -FirstName $FIRST -LastName $LAST -Password $PASSWORD -ResetPasswordOnNextLogon $true -Database "CN=Mailbox Database,CN=First Storage Group,CN=InformationStore,CN=EXMS,CN=Servers,CN=Exchange Administrative Group (FYDIBOHF23SPDLT),CN=Administrative Groups,CN=ABC School,CN=Microsoft Exchange,CN=Services,CN=Configuration,DC=abc,DC=local"

It does create the AD user and in the Exchange console I can see the user too. But the problem arises when I right-click and select to Manage Full Access Permissions. It then gives the error "Exchange Information Store on server 'exms.abc.local' is inaccessible. Make sure that the network is connected and that the Exchange Information Store is running. It was running the command 'Get-MailboxPermission -Identity 'CN=JohnSmith,OU=Staff,OU=Users,OU=School,DC=abc,DC=local''