Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

PowerPrompts - Loading pages with Frames

Status
Not open for further replies.

rigged

Programmer
Jul 24, 2003
US
I am new to Cognos powerpromts and HTML but learning fast and having fun.
I can set up a powerprompt appplication with multiple pages and produce a report.
My question is, I want to use frames, loading multiple pages, and delete and add them at will. Works great outside powerprompts! In powerprompts, I get: HTTP Error 403 - complains about access, and won't load my pages.
I use SCR="myPage.htm" and myPage is in the same directory as the application.
If I use SCR="C:\DirA\DirB\etc..\myPage.htm" it works!
But that will cause problems when I move it to a production server.

Hi, I am also learning fast and enjoy the process.

What I have discover is, if your .asp or .html code need to include some file, that file to be located under
"program files\cognos\cer3\cgi-bin"

So you may <!-- #include &quot; -->

If you don't want to screw up the cgi-bin directory, you may setup another virtual directory to hold all sort of include files. This works when your Cognos server is the WEB server. I haven't tried the case of production environemnt where the WEB server is somewhere in DMZ.

By the same token, as long as the include file URL is reacheable, it should work.

To make life easier, I kind of squeeze everything in the same file. I use layers instead of frame to achieve more or less the same UI experience.

Hi Rigged,