Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

PowerMap/General Mapping 1

Status
Not open for further replies.
Jul 24, 2002
US
I'm new to EDI mapping, and would just like to see whether its a good idea to try to create one map that will work for all TPs that uses the same version document (EDI -> App).

That all depends on the TPs and your software. It depends on whether you're the buyer or the seller. We are buyers, so my boss took the tack that we are the ones paying so we shouldn't jump through hoops to meet their needs. It has worked; we've got EDI up for all our big $ vendors (nearly 20). Any vendor that did enough business with us but balked at using our version, we left the fight to Purchasing and AP to apply a little pressure; in most cases it worked. There are a lot of vendors we don't do EDI with, but we don't purchase much from them anyway. You'll find that many vendors have no provision for testing at all and are can be inflexible about changing their map to meet our needs. We've tried to be accomodating in small ways but draw the line at the big stuff like version#.