Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Power Outage

Status
Not open for further replies.

tanuki3

Technical User
Dec 5, 2001
US
I'm relatively new with Win2000 Server and I've been hitting a wall for the last few hours.

We have 4 PCs on a CAT 5 network.

Last week the power went out suddenly and now an error that "at least one driver or service failed" during startup appears. Now none of the PCs will connect to the server although all of the hardware appears to be fine.

I have no idea how to fix this and the error log is full of so many warnings and errors from the night the power went out that I'm not sure which is the important thing that is preventing the any connections to the server.

What service do I need to restart and how do I do this? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Make sure that you reboot the Windows 2000 server. A good reboot might help the situation.

Aside from looking at all of the problems in the eventviewer from the day of the power outage, I would check the eventviewer after the reboot. You should be able to see some STOP errors. Look at the time of the good reboot that you perform to find out where in the event log contains a stop error.

Let us know what you find.

Also, you can type SERVICES.MSC at the run command and click OK. This will bring up the Services console. Look at the services and find any services that are marked as AUTOMATIC under startup type.

If you find an AUTOMATIC startup type but the service is NOT started, it should be. This might be the service that is failing on your Windows 2000 server. Try to start this service manually if you find it. Let us know which service (if any_ is failing.)