Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Possible Try Catch usage. 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

petrosky

Technical User
Aug 1, 2001
AU
Hi there,

I am very new to trapping errors in PHP.

I have an application that has a fixed number of licenses for clients to connect.

One of my PHP scripts consumes a license.

Basically I want the script to attempt the connection and if it fails due to no available licenses to sleep for 30 seconds then try the connection again before proceeding with the rest of the script.

The script I am trying to rewrite in PHP is this Python script.

Code:
while True:
  try:
    cnxn = pyodbc.connect('DRIVER={D3 ODBC Driver};SERVER=192.168.1.1;PORTNUMBER=1603;VIRTUALMACHINE=192.168.1.1;UID=xx;PWD=;ACCOUNT=xx;ACPASSWORD=;ConnectDialog=No;AConnectDialog=No;D3VERSION=710;D3PWD=;NotNullConstraint=Yes;LoginTimeout=20;')
    cursor = cnxn.cursor()
    cursor.execute("SELECT IVMST.RSV_DESC, IVMST.AVG_COST, IVMST.COST, IVMST.INV, IVMST.MU1, IVMST.MU2, IVMST.MU3, IVMST.N_12MON, IVMST.SALE, IVMST.VENDOR, IVMST.RSV_GROUP, IVMST.IVMST_id, IVMST.BRAND, IVMST.RETAIL, IVMST.SUPNAME, IVMST.S1INV, IVMST.S2INV FROM IVMST IVMST")
    mcursor.execute("DELETE FROM d3_import")
    mconn.commit()
    for row in cursor:
      c = 0