Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

possible to swap toner cartridges that aren't empty? 2

Status
Not open for further replies.

rebeltaz

Technical User
Jun 3, 2016
US
OK... I know that probably sounds like the most stupid question ever, but I assure you I have my reasons.

I have had impact printers, thermal printers, ink pen plotters, dot-matrix printers, daisy wheel printers and ink jet printers, but this is my first time seriously using a laserjet printer. I went with the HP MFP M476nw. I love it.

Recently I have been getting requests to review products on Amazon. I guess one of the sellers saw my review on that printer and offered to send me a 312x aftermarket cartridge to review. I didn't think about this at the time, but my current cartridge is only about half gone - if that. Is it possible to swap cartridges mid-stream or does that confuse things? And would that be messy? I haven't had to replace this cartridge yet, so I don't know how that works...

I know HP doesn't recommend aftermarket cartridges, but if they didn't want people to use them, they shouldn't charge $100 for theirs! Anyway... any advice will be appreciated. Thanks.

The only really big NO-NO associated with laser printers is physically moving the printer (even just across the aisle, for example) with the toner cartridge(s) in place. I.e., ALWAYS remove the cartridge(s) before even jostling the printer.

That is possible, and not usually messy, because the cartridges have a mechanical shutter that covers the toner compartment opening when you remove them from the printer, and conversely, inserting the cartridge opens the shutter.