Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Possible software corruption when renumbering PRI-T1 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

geekbryan

Technical User
Jan 16, 2003
US
I have a customer that needs more room in his Magix. He has 3 full cabinets. In cab 1 we have in this order, 408 MLX, 800 LS/GS, 800 LS/GS, 800 DID, INA-T1. No copper trunks beyond 1st 408. we want to remove the 3 unused trunk cards and replace them with station cards from the other end of the switch, thus freeing up 3 slots at the end for new stations. I have 10 years experience with Legend so I know the procedures but I have heard of problems when changing the programming of the numbering of the PRI trunks. They will be going from 829 thru 852 to 805 thru 828. Is there a need to worry about possible software corruption or can I just do the deed and board renumber without too much worry?
Thanks, Bryan

Bryan,

Since you say it is a full 3 carrier, I can only guess that you have several extensions beyond the first carrier.

If that is true, you will most likely scramble everything in the way of extension programming beyond the first carrier. This will also include any "associations" of those extensions with extensions in the first carrier.

I have done a few of these in the past few months, and they become very labor intensive and time consuming, especially if there are a lot of buttons programmed.

One way is to do a print all, then get a spare processor (in surrogate mode) and start from scratch. This way you can use the print all to help set up the extensions as they were.

Lots of luck....

merlinman@comcast.net