Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

PosiTouch (Free upgrades for life)

Status
Not open for further replies.

TobeThor

MIS
Jan 24, 2005
US
As we narrow down the POS list I can't get over the local PosiTouch dealers claim that all users get free software upgrades for life. Nobody else is willing to do that. I am a business owner and can't understand how they can afford to do that. I called a few of their users and they told me
they've been on the same software version since they bought PosiTouch a few years ago. I asked the Posi rep why this was and he said "why upgrade if the system is running fine". I then asked "there must be new features that are available and would make users want to upgrade, especially if it's free". He just said they can upgrade anytime they want, all they have to do is ask. I asked if they might need to upgrade any of their hardware, he said "that's handled on a case by case basis but it is possible". I don't have a good feeling here, can you other dealers comment about this. Any Posi users that have gotten free upgrades without any hassles?

Though I haven't worked with Posi in years, I wanted to share your sentiments. I got some interesting advice from a business owner some years ago--he said "Anytime someone is offering something for free, I get a feeling similar to when something is crawling up the back of my leg." LOL. Loose translation being "Is anything really free?" Of course, we all know the answer to that question is NO--at least not long term. And that's exactly what they're offing... free, long term upgrades.