Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Porting C++ Application from Linux(g++) to Win XP (VC++ .NET 2003)

Status
Not open for further replies.

kingsree

Programmer
Oct 9, 2005
US
Hello all,

I'm a newbie to this group. I'm currently working on a project where the task is to port an entire C++ application from Linux (g++) to Windows Xp (Visual Studio 2003).

I'm looking for tips regarding how I should start doing this. What would be the major changes that I would need to make? Any tips would be hugely welcome.

I'm also new Visual Studio Environment. So it would be great if anyone could suggest how I should start proceeding with it.

Thanks
Srinath

Which version of gcc/g++ are you porting from: is it the C89 standard or the C99 standard. VC++ is C89. If you are not using the new C99 features like dynamic arrays on the stack and macros with variable parameters, it should port quite cleanly.

A few nasties that may take a bit of time
1)The following may cause an error
Code:
for (int x = 0; i < 10; i++) {}
for (int x = 0; i < 10; i++) {}
In VC++, the int declaration is global in a for loop. There may be a switch for this.
2) Make sure the lines are terminated with CRLF. Unix just uses LF. Mixtures of LF and CRLF can cause lines of code to be missed out and can completely mess up a debugging session.
3) A backslash \ at the end of a comment takes the next line as a comment.
4) TCHARs are 2 bytes: not 4 bytes. On Solaris at least, they are 4 bytes. Not sure about Linux.
5) The comms library (sockets etc) isn't a full implementation. Some things are missing but I can't remember what.
6) Shared memory interface is completely different. It has to be locked, read/modified and then unlocked.