Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Populating a listview

Status
Not open for further replies.

JungleMonkey

Programmer
Aug 18, 2002
US
Hello,

I am very new to C#. I am using a listview control. Here is my question. How do I access individual columns in the listview. I created two columns while in design mode.
Below is a picture of what I have thus far. I have populated column 1. Even though column two is created, I cannot access the cells in column 2. Please help!
col 1 col 2
100 <access to this cell>

Thank you in advance

Well, here is a little snippet of code that perhaps may help you in your quest for inserting items in a listview....

In reality, a ListView is a way to sort data into columns/rows.

The first column of info contains the list view items, and other columns contain subitems (which are associated with each item).

<code>
public MyListView( )
{
//Create our ListView control...
ListView lv = new ListView();
lv.Parent = this;
lv.View = View.Details; //this just specifies how we view data in the listview.

//Create a new 'column' for our listview, named property. The 2nd argument set to -1, to autosize the column.
lv.Columns.Add( "Property", -1, HorizontalAlignment.Left );
lv.Columns.Add( "Value", -1, HorizontalAlignment.Left );

//Create our data to put in our listview.
string [] Properties = { "Property1", "Property2", "Property3" };
string [] Values = { "One", "Two", "Three" };
int iNumProps = Properties.Length; //Get number of props

for( int i = 0; i < iNumProps; i++ )
{
//Create a new listview item, which is the values to go in the 1st column.
ListViewItem lvi = new ListViewItem( Properties );