Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Populate Word Form from VFP Database

Status
Not open for further replies.

HowardShachter

Technical User
Jul 14, 2004
US
I have what should be a common application but have not had much success in finding a solution posted to this or other newsgroups.

I want to create a form in MS Word 2003. The first entry is Sales Order Number. I then want to look up the Sales Order and Customer information in my VFP data files and populate the Name, Address, City and other similar fields in the Word form.

I know this is doable, but I am a novice in VBA. I can get around rather well in VFP, but that is not very relevant in this situation.

Thanks for your help.
Howard Shachter

I will show my ignorance here. I have no idea what VFP is. That being said, I do know Word. So, if you have data, and a way of reading it, then Word can certainly take data and put it into Form Fields - and other types of fields.

It can also handle logic so that when a user selects an item out of Sales order, it populates other Form Fields with other data.

If you are using Form Fields, give them a proper name. Word gives default names. Say, change DropDown1 to SalesOrderNum.

Dropdowns are originally cleared by the .ListEntries.Clear method.

They are populated by .ListEntries.Add Name:=

The other fields can be populated by logic. Depending on how many items you have in the source field (SalesOrderNum), a Select Case statement would be the easiest.

See Help on the methods mentioned, also on FormFields.

Gerry

Thank you Fumei.