Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Popcorn databases begining to fly out of control?

Status
Not open for further replies.

ahmun

IS-IT--Management
Jan 7, 2002
US
Hello, all.

I'm fairly new to the programming field, and am now starting to impliment an intranet. It's more of a prototype we are developing to see if the Board wants to invest more into this project. I'm starting to see several areas where a small database (currently the only thing I know how to use is Access database) would be helpful. To name a few:
- A list of links (the list given to me is huge, and the user wants it to be able to be searchable)
- a database of employee biographies
- an archive of monthly newsletters

Some of these (ie. the archive of monthly newsletters) I wrote a web page by hand (not db driven) and some (the employee bio) I implemented a small database. All pages are written in ASP using Dreamweaver.

I've thought about looking into Studio .Net but I'm not sure how that would help me.

What I'm facing is maintenance in the future... (it would be a pain to have to make a list of links, and have to alphabetize them myself) but... I am thinking if I implemented little databases here and there, I will be repeating a lot of work and effort. Is there some advice I can get on how to organize things so I don't end up doing extra work? Earnie Eng
If you are born once, you will die twice.
If you are born twice, you will die once

I think that a database is the way to go. Since you are familiar with Access it would be a good place to start.

I am not familiar with ASP but I believe that you can access the data with ADO. Something to check on anyway.