Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

pooling in tomcat

Status
Not open for further replies.

dendenners

Programmer
Jul 17, 2001
IE
Can you get tomcat to open a pool of connections to a database at startup, and if so, where do I start? I'm pretty new to tomcat but I've been using weblogic for a while. Incidentally, would anyone care to give a brief list of the disadvantages/limitations of using tomcat vs. a commercial server like weblogic?
Thanks in advance
DMC

WebLogic is also overkill and entirely too expensive for just Servlets/JSP, even the Express Edition. I develop for WebLogic on a daily basis but I would never recommend someone to go with such an expensive solution when there are so many free or cheap solutions out there to do the same. Resin or Tomcat is more than adequate for simple Servlets and JSP.

If you are doing serious EJB development and need the ultra feature rich clustering that WebLogic offers (as my current project does) than it is a no brainer. Go with either WebLogic or WebSphere. If on the otherhand you are doing simple EJB solutions there are other less expensive App Servers available and as long as you don't use its custom extensions you shouldn't need to worry about vendor lockin.

It sounds like you are just doing plain Servlet/JSP stuff, stick with Tomcat or Resin... unless you prefer to pay the 10K per CPU license for WebLogic.

I agree with wushutwist. Tomcat will be adequate for most all but for those projects that have tons of money to spend, then you should really use the expensive stuff.
Ha ;-) Actually if EJB full feature set was necessary, I would be investigating the open source jBoss implementation closely.