Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

pointers in java ???

Status
Not open for further replies.

mu4life66

Programmer
Nov 17, 2003
US
Hi all!!
i'm new to java and i got a simple question.
how does pointers work in java?
let say i want to creat a link list...with nodes...in C++, it'll look like this:

class Node
{
public:

// constructors
Node():
next(this),prev(this){};

Node(const ItemType data):
item(data),next(NULL),prev(NULL){};

// public data members
ItemType item;
Node* next;
Node* prev;
};

does java have * ? i know java has ArrayList class and stuff like that, but what if i want to creat one from scratch?

A very lousy answer would be:
--- start here ---
There are no pointers.

Replace Foo* foo with Foo foo.
Replace foo->bar (); with foo.bar ();
and foo->a = 7; with with foo.a = 7;

Not absolutely sure, but I guess you would translate it to this:
Code:
class Node
{
	public ItemType item;
	public Node next, prev;

public Node ()
	{
		next = this;
		prev = this;
	}

public Node (final ItemType data)
	{
		item = data;
		next = new Node ();
		prev = new Node ();
	}
}
--- end lousy ----

In Detail, things get more complicated.
Objects are passed as methodarguments as 'copy of reference' (so changing the reference will not affect the caller - while changing the referenced values will).

seeking a job as java-programmer in Berlin:

wow.......

thanx stefanwagner

i guess java just want to make everything really simple.

I really don't understand how java work with out letting user mess with the pointers... I try to find out more about this in many java books, but no luck so far....they don't even mention pointers at all....

do you know any reference i can check out?

thanx