Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Please, please, please Assist with Code to Count Records by User. 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

blue1914mab

Technical User
Oct 17, 2005
US
Since I am new to Access, I will take the long way around the block to ask this simple question.

At initial logon, a "Welcome/Status" page for each user (based on their UserID) is the first page they see (there is no traditional switchboard). This page is designed to show the records they have been assigned, as well as various stats based on that.

I have an unbound txt box on this page that I would like to show how many "Patient Records" they currently have assigned to them.

These patient records are stored in another table called tblPatientInventory. On "frmSetInformation" (bound to tblPatientInventory)there is a button that when selected, changes the status to "Checked-Out" from "Available", date stamps it, and based on EmployeeID, post their last name.

What would be the code for the unbound text box on the Welcome/Status page to show how many "Total" records have their EmployeeID associated with it. This would tell them how many Patient Record they currently have assinged to them.

Take a look at DCount in help.

John

Use what you have,
Learn what you can,
Create what you need.

I thought you had on that Welcome form a subform that displayed the patient information as are assigned to that particular user. If you do, there are many ways to get the total number from there, not least of which is just to leave the navigation buttons turned on (at the bottom of the subform ..."1 of 12", and so forth).